Wireless keyboards

Started by Binnatics, February 06, 2014, 12:26:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Binnatics

Anyone familiar with wireless keyboards? I bought a Microsoft wireless keyboard recently and from time to time it stutters. The batteries are brand-new so that can't be the problem. The distance between the USB receiver is less than 2 meters and there's no obstructions whatsoever.

I was afraid this would happen but the guy in the shop assured me those were problems of the past. Only @ great distances, like 10 meters, it would possibly loose connection. Now I feel pretty taken by the nose  >:(

Either there's a simple solution to this or I'm going to spend some serious money on a gaming keyboard. A Vandal-proof one that is :angel: :angel:
"Responsibility is not a matter of giving or taking, responsibility is something you share" -Binnatics

PZ

I've been using wireless keyboards on various computers for over 15 years.  The only unreliable ones (that have failed) are those made by Microsoft.  I now only use Logitech when I go wireless.

If your drivers are up-to-date and batteries are good, I'd return the keyboard as being defective - they should never "stutter"

Art Blade

unfortunately he said he bought a Microsoft one, apparently just like one of those that failed you, too.

In that case, I'd return the keyboard as faulty indeed and get any keyboard not from MS. As a matter of fact, I am a fan of Logitech, too, and I have been using their G15 and G19 gaming keyboards (with wire), they're just great.
[titlebar]Vision without action is a daydream. Action without vision is a nightmare.[/titlebar]What doesn't kill us, makes us weirder.

fragger

I tried using a wireless keyboard and mouse for a while but eventually got sick of replacing/recharging batteries. I found the rechargeable ones didn't last very long before running down, and while regular batteries would last much longer they would of course have to be replaced.