Modding GTA IV

Started by Art Blade, November 12, 2011, 04:14:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Art Blade

Almost unavoidably here at OWG we start to mod games when we're allowed to, when there are tools, that is. I'm new to GTA (only just started with IV) so I'm late to modding. When I saw a vid at Rockstar's social club (their website where they host films users made with the in-game video editor) with someone driving a proper ricer (souped-up Japanese car) and drifting the sweet bejeebus out of it.. then I knew it was time to find myself a proper car and start to drift around in Liberty City my very self.  :-D

Using a well-known search engine, I found countless websites that had "GTA4" and "drifting" in common. Looking for a particular car, it wasn't too difficult to find. So I got my file with that 3D car model and then..

the problems.. yes. You can't just drop that file into the game folder and be done, noooooo... far from it.

You need a program to open archives that have the extension "img" as in image and because it is a common graphics file extension my picture viewer software felt compelled to pipe up. Nice. But useless.

Just right here a warning: Before you twiddle around with your games, BLOODY MAKE BACKUPS  >:D

OK.. Now.

By the way: www.7-zip.org to download 7zip, a program that can open all kinds of archives including .zip and .rar archives.

edit
I read you need this here (not sure, was one of the first files I found, I use it anyway)
http://alexander.sannybuilder.com/Files/IVAsiLoader.rar
/edit

The good thing: You don't need to download any 3D models and that tool. You can just edit the handling file to mod existing cars in a way that you can for example drift with them. But if you want to actually change your car's appearance (3D model) you need this..

http://gtaivtools.googlecode.com/files/SparkIV%200.6.9.zip

.. to open the car file which is here:

HD:\Steam\SteamApps\common\grand theft auto iv\GTAIV\pc\models\cdimages\vehicles.img