Why FC2 is special

Started by PZ, February 05, 2011, 01:54:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PZ

Far Cry2 was the reason I started playing video games, and my reasons were the same as most people that play the game have mentioned many times before.  When new games come out like the AC series, the Fallout series, and a few others, I become enamored with them for a while, but then nearly always return to FC2.

About my only opportunity to really play the game is on the weekends these days, and early this morning I was at the GP just north of the Outpost - I'd just confiscated a GLAT and was manning it waiting for someone to come by.  Then the reason FC2 is my favorite of all time hit me - I heard the sound of the wind coursing through the brittle brush, stirring up the sand - the "caw" of a crow in the distance, and the general sounds of the outdoors.  I closed my eyes and just listened - the effect was almost like being back in the Southern California deserts that I love to visit.  No monsters, aliens, spaceships - just the "real" sounds of life. 

I just sat there and listened for a while.

Art Blade

You're right about the game FC2, at least I agree, it is possible to load a savegame and just drive or walk to some (merc-free) places and just stay there for a while enjoying the ambiance. Until malaria kicks in  :-D
[titlebar]Vision without action is a daydream. Action without vision is a nightmare.[/titlebar]What doesn't kill us, makes us weirder.

ninzza

Many games like Uncharted 2, RDR ... are a blast when I first playthrough them but after seeing the credits, I didnt feel complled to play them again. However I still play FC2 and I will play it until FC3 comes out. One of the main reasons is the environments are both beuatiful and authentic. I feel like I live in Africa, on the other hand games like JC2 may have much bigger world but they dont convice me at all.

Art Blade

I think the FPS aspect is important, more immersive.