The Underdome

Started by mmosu, January 10, 2010, 05:05:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mmosu

So as I said in a couple of the Borderlands threads already, I started playing Madd Moxxi's Underdome Riot this weekend, and so far it has been a challenge.  Keep in mind I haven't played it online yet, so everything I'm saying applies to fighting in the dome by yourself.  You start off having to "prove" yourself by surviving 5 rounds in each of the arena's (Hell-Burbia, the Angelic Ruins, and the Gully) - sounds simple right?  But then you find out that a "round" consists of 5 waves of enemies of increasing strength and variable rules, which Moxxi will alter at her whim.  The "rules" can effect anything, from negating player shields, to increasing enemy speed, to taking away damage bonuses for critical hits.  You are informed at the start of each wave of any sudden rule changes and have a few seconds to devise your strategy before feet are on the ground and they're comin' for ya!  I even encountered one round where I was forced to use shotguns, as damage from all other weapon types was decreased and shotguns were given a damage bonus. 
In addition there is the penalty box, which is postioned high above the arena.  It only effects multiplayer, so I haven't directly experienced it yet, but the idea is that when you are defeated in the arena you end up here.  You can still shoot out of it, but you can't leave unless the rest of your team manages to finish the wave, so I would imagine some strategy might be employed here (for example, letting your sniper go to the penalty box on purpose to allow them a bird's eye view of the arena  ;))
Altogether it seems that this DLC will be very challenging and have lots of replay value, and I'm sure I'll be spending lots of time here.

Fiach

so is underdome just an arena, no outside quest areas?
WITH A GUN FOR A LOVER AND A SHOT FOR THE PAIN.

Guests are not allowed to view images in posts, please Register or Login

mmosu